Loading Events


Monday 20 May 8:00 pm

Anoki von Arx (mezzo-soprano), Vasiliki Konstantinou (soprano) and Milena Romanova (piano), perform the Stabat Mater sequence, a 13th-century Christian hymn to Mary, which portrays her suffering as Jesus Christ’s mother during his crucifixion. The title comes from its first line, Stabat Mater dolorosa, which means “the sorrowful mother was standing” and has been set to music by many Western composers, including Giovanni Battista Pergolesi, whose work will be presented. It is performed all the year round and especially at Easter. The programme also includes works by JS Bach, Handel, Chopin and Beethoven. Sponsored by Music in the Mountains.

STABAT MATER: PERGOLESI – Anoki von Arx (mezzo-soprano), Vasiliki Konstanti (soprano), Milena Romanova (piano). Monday 20 May 8pm, Technopolis 20 Paphos. Tickets: €15. Box Office: Tel: 70002420. www.technopolis20.com

Giovanni Battista Pergolesi (1710-1736) finished the composition of his most famous piece, the Stabat Mater, at the age of 26, only a few weeks before his untimely death. The work was commissioned by a religious brotherhood in Naples for the liturgic ceremony for all Fridays in March, to replace Scarlatti’s piece of the same name. He set to music a late medieval poem on the suffering of Maria, Mother of God, whose author is not clearly known but which is representative of the religious poetry of its time. The piece is based on the aesthetic principle of chiaroscuro, that is, contrasting lighting, and applies the so-called gallant style to religious music. It became quickly known throughout the world, it was the most printed work of music in the 18th century, and was performed in various contexts and arrangements, exercising a tremendous impact on musical culture and history right up to modern times.


JS Bach (1685 – 1750) Prelude in C major

William Gomez (1939 – 2000) Ave Maria

JS Bach (1685 – 1750) Prelude in B minor

GF Handel (1685 -1759) Passacaglia

JS Bach (1685 – 1750) Quia respexit from Magnificat

F Chopin (1810 – 1849) Nocturne in C# Minor

L v Beethoven (1770 -1827) Sonata 17 (1st movement) “The Tempest”

F Chopin (1810 – 1849) Waltz in B minor


Giovanni Battista Pergolesi (1710-1736) Stabat Mater

The work is divided into twelve movements, each named after the incipit of the text.

  1. Stabat Mater Dolorosa: Grave, F minor, common time; duet
  2. Cujus animam gementem: Andante amoroso, C minor, 3/8; soprano aria
  3. O quam tristis et afflicta: Larghetto, G minor, common time; duet
  4. Quae moerebat et dolebat: Allegro, E-flat major, 2/4; mezzo-soprano aria
  5. Quis est homo: Largo, C minor, common time; duet

         – Pro peccatis suae gentis: Allegro, C minor, 6/8; duet

  1. Vidit suum dulcem natum: Tempo giusto, F minor, common time; soprano aria
  2. Eja mater fons amoris: Andantino, C minor, 3/8; mezzo-soprano
  3. Fac ut ardeat cor meum: Allegro, G minor, cut common time; duet
  4. Sancta mater, istud agas: Tempo giusto, E-flat major, common time; duet
  5. Fac ut portem Christi mortem: Largo, G minor, common time; mezzo-soprano
  6. Inflammatus et accensus: Allegro ma non troppo, B-flat major, common time; duet
  7. Quando corpus morietur: Largo assai, F minor, common time; duet

         – Amen: Presto assai, F minor, cut common time; duet

Anoki von Arx (mezzo-soprano) after a dancing career, has devoted herself to opera. Having graduated from the Conservatory in Paris, her voice training has had a lasting impact, from the Cornelius Reid method via Carol Bagott-Forte, Canada. Her voice covers the entire spectrum from high and dramatic soprano to mezzo. For many years her interdisciplinary productions have opened the world of opera to a young public (such as Opera vs. Streetdance). She moved next to regular one-woman-shows and various concerts and opera productions in Cyprus. She performed as soloist with the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra and the Aphrodite Opera Festival Paphos. Anoki was also seen in the Rialto Theatre Limassol as Donna Anna under the conductor Yiorgos Kountouris and recently in “The Man on the Roof”. She currently performs throughout Europe.

Vasiliki Konstanti (soprano) was born in Limassol. She studied at the National Conservatory (Αnnex Famagusta), where she received, in 2007, her Diploma with honors. In 2013 she graduated from the Music Department of Ionian University, in the Singing sector, under the guidance of Ms Roza Poulimenou. She continued her studies in singing in Berlin under the guidance of Mrs Janet Williams and afterwards at the International Opera Studio di Pesaro in Italy, with Mrs Inga Balabanova. During her career, she was a member of vocal ensembles, participating in many productions. She has also collaborated with acclaimed orchestras and Conductors, where she interpretated arias from Operas at many concerts in Greece, Cyprus, Italy and Germany. In 2017, Vasiliki was one of the finalists at the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra Competition ‘Cypriot Soloists, the First Step’, where she performed under the direction of Petros Stylianou. In 2017, she made her debut, singing Giulietta in Bellini’s opera ‘I Capuleti e Montecchi’ at Urbania Bramante Theater in Italy, under the direction of Salvatore Francavilla. Since 2019 she has taught Vocals, at the Music School of Paphos.

Milena Romanova (piano) is a graduate of the Specialised Kharkov Musical College and Kharkov Conservatory in Ukraine, and qualified as a piano teacher, accompanist, and chamber ensemble player. She stayed to work at the Conservatory in the Department of solo singing and wind instruments. Milena has extensive experience with various instruments, as well as in solo singing. She is a laureate and diploma laureate of national and international competitions and festivals. Milena has a large number of pupils all over the world. In 2018, she completed an international tour of China with a graduate student Zhan Chi from the Kharkov National University of Arts. She has letters of appreciation, diplomas for high professionalism and the degree of leading accompanist. Milena has a wealth of experience as a soloist, accompanist, and piano teacher.

STABAT MATER: PERGOLESI – Anoki von Arx (mezzo-soprano), Vasiliki Konstanti (soprano), Milena Romanova (piano). Monday 20 May 8pm, Technopolis 20 Paphos . Tickets: €15. Box Office: Tel: 70002420. www.technopolis20.com

Share This Event



Monday 20 May
8:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Technnopolis 20
Nikolaou I. Nikolaidi Avenue 18
Paphos, 8010
+ Google Map
View Venue Website


Music in the Mountains

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top